What Transformation Looks Like

The State Library will be diving into our transformation with a project launch next week. It almost sounds like a record launch or the launch of a fashion line, doesn’t it? I don’t think it will be that swank but I am very much looking forward to it.

State library staff and stakeholders will be working with Kelly Jensen, our project manager from the firm Mass Ingenuity, and Sarah Miller, our project sponsor who is theĀ  Deputy Chief Operating Officer for the state of Oregon.

We have assembled an Advisory Committee and a Project Team which consists of staff and stakeholders and the first task of the project team is to create work groups to explore the “future state” of the state library, using our current services as a starting point. These work groups consist of state library staff, stakeholders and partners.

The amazing Jessica (my executive assistant ) will be staffing the project team and one of her assignments is to create a web page so you can follow along with our progress. I’ll let you know the location of that as soon as we (and by we I mean Jess) have it ready.

The State Library budget for the 2013-2015 biennium has been approved by both the House and the Senate and will soon be on the Governor’s desk for signature. The second year of our funding will be dependent on Legislative approval of our transformation implementation plan so we are determined to get this right.

BOOK SUGGESTION

As some of you know, I commute from Corvallis to Salem. I don’t really like to listen to fiction when I am driving and I’ve finally figured out that it is because when I read fiction I want to devour it in one sitting. I’ve listened to a number of the Teaching Company’s Great Courses which are fabulous but I’ve also started listening to non-fiction on my commute. I listened to Doris Kearns Goodwin’s Team of Rivals: The Political Genius of Abraham Lincoln (all 40 hours) and loved it.

I am currently listening to The Last of the Doughboys: The Forgotten Generation and Their Forgotten World War by Richard Rubin and I would highly recommend it to anyone interested in history, especially World War I. The author spend nearly a decade tracking down living American (and Canadian) veterans of WWI and interviewing them. This was in the early 2000′s so everyone he interviewed was over 100 years old. He doesn’t just share their recollections (which he taped so they are verbatim) but provides little known information about WWI. Having had most of my “old ones” participate in World War II, either in the military or at home, I am pretty familiar with that but have a definite gap in my understanding and knowledge of WWI. This fascinating book is helping me fill that gap. Read (or listen) to it!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

