“Neither snow nor sleet nor heat nor gloom of night…”

Luckily my trip to a retreat with the Pendleton Public Library Board was last weekend, not this weekend. I was invited to talk about changes at the State Library which I did but I also got to rub elbows with the people who contribute so much to the success of public libraries in communities. The Pendleton Public Library Board is made up of a wonderful range of people and I very much enjoyed spending time with them.

On the way to Pendleton I picked up Buzzy Nielsen, director of the Hood River Library District, as he was on the Board Retreat agenda to talk about the Sage Library System. We had a very nice visit on the drive but he came in really handy when we stopped by the Ione Public Library. The citizens of Ione created a special library district last year after many, many years as a project of the local “Topic Club”. We met with three enthusiastic women, staff and Board members, who have leapt into the project with gusto.  I,of course, could offer the excellent services of Library Development services at the State Library. But what Buzzy could offer was real and down to earth advice on running a library district.  It made me remember what a wealth of information, wisdom, and experience we have in Oregon libraries. Let’s all remember to tap into that wealth.

I attended the OLA Children’s Services Division strategic planning session at Chemeketa Community College on Monday of this week and I chatted with someone about libraries and e-government and then yesterday I got information about an national initiative Lib2gov which connects libraries to online government information.

Last but not least, take a look at the Google doodle today.

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to “Neither snow nor sleet nor heat nor gloom of night…”

  1. Buzzy Nielsen says:

    I’m glad to hear that I come in useful every once in a while

Leave a Reply

